Music in the Round



Captives and Captivated

Ensemble 360

Mon 12 May 2014 12:45pm

Crucible Studio Theatre, Sheffield

Captives and Captivated

Ticket Info

Tickets*: £11 / £7.50 Disabled & Unemployed / £5 Under 18s & Students


Programme Information

View our Subscription & Ticket Offers

SCHULHOFF Concertino for flute, viola and double bass
HAAS Oboe Suite
JANÁČEK String Quartet No.1 Kreutzer Sonata

Underlying this programme of music by three wonderful Czech composers is the poignancy of the cruel fate that befell two of them. When Janáček composed his String Quartet No.1, he wrote to his muse Kamila Stösslová that he imagined 'a poor woman, tormented and run down, just like the one the Russian writer Tolstoy describes in his Kreutzer Sonata'. The blazing passion of this music also suggests a personal inspiration close to Janáček's heart – his passionate love for Kamila. Pavel Haas was Janáček's most gifted pupil and his Oboe Suite was written in 1939, two years before Haas's deportation to Terezin Concentration Camp and his subsequent death in the gas chambers of Auschwitz. The startlingly original Erwin Schulhoff – who died of tuberculosis in Wülzburg camp – wrote his Concertino in 1925, drawing on the energetic rhythms of Czech folk dances.

*A transaction fee applies to all bookings made at the Box Office (excluding cash) of £1.50 (£1.00 to online bookings).

To hear music from this concert, click on the links below.


This event contributes to the ‘Discover’ and ‘Explore’ levels of the Arts Award. It enables children to experience and participate in an inspiring musical event which they could then share with others.


Performance Notes.

Sheffield Chamber Music Festival
Sheffield Chamber Music Festival

View the brochure online here.

All you need to know, right here.
All you need to know, right here.
Arts Award
Arts Award

Music in the Round is an Arts Award supporter. Find out more here.