Music in the Round



Ensemble 360

Thu 5 Dec 2013 7:30pm

Crucible Studio Theatre, Sheffield

Ensemble 360

Ticket Info

£16.50 / £11 Disabled & Unemployed / £5 Under 18s & Students


Programme Information

View our Subscription & Ticket Offers

BRAHMS String Quartet in A minor Op.51 No.2
DVOŘÁK Piano Quintet in A Op.81

This programme brings together two great chamber works from the later part of the nineteenth century written by two friends: Brahms’s melancholy and expressive Quartet in A minor was one of a pair written in the summer of 1873 after he had destroyed many earlier attempts to write a string quartet. The last movement is based on a traditional Hungarian folk dance. Dvořák’s wonderfully melodic Piano Quintet of 1887 also draws on folk music, particularly in the sparkling third movement.

Audience Recommendation: “Brahms’s string quartet is one the composer’s finest creations. The energy of the first movement sets the tone for the rest of the piece as fragments of it are incorporated throughout until the Finale gently fades away.”

Sponsored by MCRG Ltd.

* A transaction fee applies to all bookings made at the Box Office (excluding cash) of £1.50 (£1.00 to online bookings)

Listen to music featured in the programme via Spotify:

View our Autumn brochure above or receive a copy 
in the post by emailing

Performance Notes.

Sheffield Chamber Music Festival
Sheffield Chamber Music Festival

View the brochure online here.

All you need to know, right here.
All you need to know, right here.
Arts Award
Arts Award

Music in the Round is an Arts Award supporter. Find out more here.